Tickets & Events

The Americas

Buy Tickets

Steve Amundson conducting
Francesca Anderegg, violin

Rochester Symphony welcomes guest conductor Steven Amundson, St. Olaf Professor and Orchestra Conductor emeritus, to the stage for the first time in this concert celebrating composers of the Americas. Joining with 35 other states in the New Music for the Americas consortium, we’ll represent Minnesota in the world premiere of nationally renowned composer Jennifer Higdon’s tone poem from her award-winning opera Cold Mountain, inspired by the Civil War novel by Charles Frazier. We’ll heat up this wintry month by closing the concert with two of the most high-energy pieces ever created for orchestra: the fiery Four Seasons of Buenos Aires for strings and solo violin, featuring concert violinist Francesca Anderegg, and the explosive Danzón No. 2 from Mexican composer Arturo Márquez.


Higdon Suite from Cold Mountain

(United States, North America)

Minnesota premiere, New Music for Americas consortium commission

Piazzolla The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires

(Argentina, South America) with Francesca Anderegg, violin

Márquez Dánzon No. 2

(Mexico, North America)

Thank You Sponsors

Season Sponsor
Ticket Sponsor
Photography Sponsor